4 Comments

I typically keep my trailer winterized until arriving at a private campground. I think its best to just pick one place and stay there for 2-3 weeks, that way you won't feel like its a waste if you decide to leave a few days early to avoid towing thru a blizzard.

My arctic fox 22g, with aftermarket tank heating pads will keep from freezing up as low as -20F. If I am anticipating temperatures any lower than that I will winterize the RV and dry camp.

Ive had enjoyable skiing/camping trips at the Steamboat Springs KOA, Salida/ Mt Shavano KOA and Leadville RV Corral.

Expand full comment

All good questions.

When reviewing the ski areas listed under the Indy Pass’ Western Area, and looking at those area’s web sites, it appeared that a few encouraged potential skiers to buy passes online and ahead of time, as they had capacity limitations. I haven’t followed up to see if the Indy Pass bypasses those limitations. Do you know?

Also, several ski areas are only open over weekends with a Friday and/or Monday addition. Good to know before making the drive.

Finally, many areas, and perhaps most, offer Nordic skiing. This is a great option as my spouse is not an alpine skier, but would xc ski, and/or snow shoe.

What are your thoughts?

Expand full comment